Artists

ANDREA Pat

Born in Hague on June 25th, 1942, Pat Andrea is a Dutch painter and sculptor. He studied at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in The Hague from 1960 to 1965.

He grew up in a, artistic environment as his father was a painter and his mother was an illustrator. He traveled in Latin America and when he went back to Buenos Aires in 1978, he witnessed major social problems concerning Argentinians with several secret disappearing acts and isolation on the international level, that the population underwent. He draws inspiration from tango and a variation called "la punalada" (stab), his drawings are inspired by this and criticizes dictatorship. 

An important protagonist of the New Subjectivity movement, Pat Andrea's favorite themes are violence, sex and death. In his work, he depicts an ambiguous and troubled universe, drawing inspirations from themes like Alice in Wonderland, representing erotic feminine figures, derived from his subconscious.

His work was exhibited in several personal and collective exhibitions in France and abroad, especially the Chenonceau castle in 2007, his series were inspired by texts from Lewis Caroll, leaning on Alice and Wonderland.

Les artistes

ANDREA Pat

Né le 25 juin 1942 à La Haye, Pat Andrea est un peintre et sculteur néerlandais. De 1960 à 1965, il étudie l'art à l'Académie royale des Beaux-Arts de La Haye.


Il a été baigné dans le domaine artistique très tôt, son père étant peintre et sa mère illustratrice. Il voyage en Amérique Latine et lors d'un retour à Buenos Aires en 1978 il est témoin des grands problèmes sociaux argentins avec les nombreuses disparitions gardées sous silence et l'isolement au plan international que subit la population. Il s'inspire beaucoup du tango, et d'une variante appelée "la punalada" (coup de poignard) dont il s'inspire dans ses dessins critiquant la dictature.

Important protagoniste du mouvement de la Nouvelle Subjectivité, Pat Andrea a pour thèmes de prédilection la violence, le sexe et la mort. Dans ses œuvres, il dépeint un univers ambigu et trouble, s'inspirant de sujets tels qu'Alice au pays des merveilles, représentant souvent des figures féminines érotiques issues de son inconscient. 

Son travail a été exposé à l'occasion de nombreuses expositions personnelles et collectives en France et à l'étranger, notamment au château de Chenonceau rn 2007 pour sa série inspirée de textes de Lewis Caroll, portant sur Alice au pays des merveilles.